English News Haberler

Tonight: Belgium Selects for Eurovision 2023, Melodi Grand Prix Semi-Final One&Eesti Laul Semi-Final Two

Tonight Belgium selects its entry for the 2023 Eurovision Song Contest, while Norway begins its search and Estonia continues its selection.

The key times for today are:

  • Estonia – Eesti Laul 2023 – Semi-Final Two – 18:30 CET
  • Norway – Melodi Grand Prix- Semi-Final One – 19:50 CET
  • Belgium – Eurosong 2023 – Final – 20:20 CET
Estonia – Eesti Laul 2023 – Semi-Final Two – 18:30 CET
Eesti Laul 2023 hosts, Estonia. Image source: Kairit Leibold/ERR
Eesti Laul 2023 hosts, Estonia. Image source: Kairit Leibold/ERR

Estonia’s search for the Eurovision Song Contest 2023 continues this evening live from the Viimsi Artium. Ten artists are competing for five places in the Grand Final.

As in previous editions, voting will be held over two rounds. In the first round, all ten songs will be voted on by a jury and the public, and the four songs that receive the highest combined score will qualify. A second round of voting will then be held for the remaining six songs with the public selecting the fifth finalist.

The running order is:

  1. Inger – “Awaiting You”
  2. Linalakk & Bonzo – “Aeg” (Time)
  3. Meelik- “Tuju” (Mood)
  4. Elysa – “Bad Philosophy”
  5. Robin Juhkental – “Kurbuse matused” (Funeral of sorrow)
  6. m els – “So Good At What You Do”
  7. Wiiralt – “Salalik” (Secretive)
  8. Sissi – “Lighthouse”
  9. Carlos Ukareda – “Whiskey Won’t Forget”
  10. Alika – “Bridges”

You can watch the show live here.

Norway – Melodi Grand Prix- Semi-Final One – 19:50 CET
MGP 2023 Hosts
Image Source: NRK

Norway will kick off their Eurovision selection tonight live from Oslo. Seven songs are in the running for three slots in the Final, which will take place on February 4th. The qualifiers this evening will be selected entirely by public voting.

Hosting Melodi Grand Prix are Arianrhod Engebø and Staysman. The Semi-Final One running order is as follows:

  1. Alessandra Mele — “Queen of Kings”
  2. Eirik Næss — “Wave”
  3. Rasmus Thall — “TRESKO” (CLOGS)
  4. Kate Gulbrandsen — “Tårer i paradis” (Tears in paradise)
  5. Umami Tsunami — “Geronimo”
  6. Ulrikke — “Honestly”
  7. Jowst & Byron Williams Jr — “Freaky for the Weekend”

You can watch the show live here.

Belgium – Eurosong 2023 – Final – 20:20 CET
Eurosong 2023
Image Source: VRT

Belgium will select its Eurovision entry this evening after five episodes of Eurosong, in which the competing artists chose the song that they will sing in the final. The final takes place in Palleis 12 in Brussels.

The Eurosong 2023 final line-up is as follows:

  • Loredana – “You Lift Me Up”
  • Chérine – “Ca m’ennuie pas”
  • Hunter Falls – “Ooh La La”
  • Ameerah – “The Carnival”
  • Gala Dragot – “T’inquiète”
  • Gustaph – “Because of You”
  • The Starlings – “Rollercoaster”

The winner will be selected by a combination of an expert jury and public voting. A total of 1,560 points are available, 780 points from the public and 780 points from the expert jury.

The Expert jury is formed of fifteen members who will award 12, 10, 8, 7, 6, 5, and 4 points each. The four jury members featuring in the show are:

  • Alexander Rybak – Winner of Eurovision 2009
  • Nikkie de Jager – Host at Eurovision 2021
  • Laura Tesoro – Represented Belgium at Eurovision 2016
  • Jérémie Makiese – Represented Belgium at Eurovision 2022

The remaining eleven jurors voting are:

  • Laura Govaerts (MNM)
  • Ann Reymen (Radio2)
  • Korneel De Clercq (Radio 1)
  • Thibault Christiaensen (StuBru)
  • Francicso Schuster ( #LikeMe )
  • Leslie Cable (Head of Delegation for RTBF at the Eurovision Song Contest)
  • Jasper Van Biesen (Author of “65 years of Belgium at the Eurovision Song Contest”)
  • Stephan Monsieur (Chair of OGAE Belgium)
  • André Vermeulen (Journalist and Eurovision specialist)
  • Els Germonpré (Music coordinator Eén)
  • Manu Lammens (music manager MNM)

The public vote will see 780 points broken down into the percentage of the vote that each participant receives e.g. 10% of the vote will receive 78 points. In the event there is a tie the candidate that receives the highest score from the jury will be declared the winner.

Duncan Laurence will be a guest performer in the Belgian national final. Duncan Laurence won the Eurovision Contest 2019 in Tel Aviv, Israel with his song “Arcade” scoring a total of 498 points. He was the first Dutch winner of the competition since 1975.

You can watch the show live here.


Bir cevap yazın

E-posta hesabınız yayımlanmayacak. Gerekli alanlar * ile işaretlenmişlerdir