English News

Poland: TVP Announces Eurovision National Selection & Participants

The ten artists that will compete to represent Poland at the Eurovision Song Contest 2022 in Turin, Italy have been revealed.

TVP has announced that it will be holding a national final in which 10 artists will compete which will take place on February 19 to select the nation’s entry for Eurovision Song Contest 2022. The winner would be decided by a combination of jury voting and public voting.

The list of acts and songs for the national selection are:

  • Unmute – “Głośniej niż decybele” (Louder than decibels)
  • Karolina Stanisławczyk & Chica Toro – “Move”
  • Emilia Dębska (Mila) – “All I need”
  • Daria – “Paranoia”
  • Krystian Ochman – “River”
  • Lidia Kopania – “Why does it hurt”
  • Kuba Szmajkowski – “Lovesick”
  • Karolina Lizer – “Czysta woda” (Clean water)
  • Siostry Szlachta – “Drogowskazy” (Signposts)
  • Ania Byrcyn – “Dokąd” (Where)

Lidia Kopania represented Poland in Eurovision 2009 with “I Don’t Wanna Leave”.

Originally TVP stated that the Polish entry for Turin would be internally selected when a call for entries was made in late 2021. With interested acts having until November 20th 2021, to send in a song they wished to sing for Poland. In those published plans the public would have no say in the selection of the Polish Eurovision act for 2022. However, local media reported in early January that TVP would now hold a national final to allow for the public to help select the Polish Eurovision act for 2022. This news has now been confirmed by TVP.

The switch from internal selection to national final is said to be because the TVP internal selection committee has difficulties in choosing the Polish representative. TVP had originally set a deadline of January 2 by which the broadcaster would announce the Polish act, however, this was then delayed until January 15.

Poland used “Szansa na Sukces” ahead of Eurovision 2020 in which Alicja and her song “Empires” was the winner, after the cancellation of Eurovision 2020 Poland would return to an internal selection. In 2021 Rafał Brzozowski represented Poland at the contest this year with his song “The Ride”. He failed to qualify to the final, finishing in 14th in the second semi-final. Poland last used a national final in 2018 in which Gromee feat. Lukas Meijer won with the song “Light Me Up“, however, the group failed to make the final.

Source : Eurovoix


Bir cevap yazın

E-posta hesabınız yayımlanmayacak. Gerekli alanlar * ile işaretlenmişlerdir